How I Work: Twitter

“Learning Twitter.”

That was my first tweet ever. I had no clue what I was doing and I certainly didn’t learn anything.

Image
I even found my first twitpic.

All of that being said, I’ve come a long way in the last 5 years. So how do I tweet now? It’s simple really.

My Twitter experience boils down to 2 tools. First up. Hootsuite.

Image

Hootsuite is no secret. I’ve been using it off and on for years and it’s the Twitter client chosen by many, specifically for people who maintain multiple Twitter accounts.

I have Hootsuite linked to my personal Twitter, my church Twitter and Facebook and our youth group Twitter and Facebook. What’s interesting is that I use it completely differently for my personal and business accounts.

For my personal account, Hootsuite is my Twitter reader. Very rarely do I actually tweet from Hootsuite. I have those I’m following split up into 5 lists: Don’t Miss, Pastor, Funny, Worship Leader, Friends. I check my Don’t Miss list every day, and it’s a must have list for anyone interested in using Twitter efficiently. Just be sure to be stingy with who makes the cut.

For my church/business accounts, Hootsuite is my social media scheduler. Every Monday I schedule all of my social media posts for the rest of the week. Being able to plan posts ahead of time is priceless. Before I started doing this my posts were scattered and random at best.

The second tool I use is something fairly new to my arsenal. Buffer.

Image

Buffer’s only purpose is to schedule your tweets automatically for you.

“But Kyle! Hootsuite does that too!”

You are correct. Hootsuite does have an auto-schedule feature. However, there is one small thing that Buffer does that Hootsuite doesn’t.

With Buffer you create a custom, repeating schedule for your tweets. You don’t have to worry about specifying when to post something, you just send it to Buffer and it puts it in the next available slot. (You can later adjust the order of posts in the browser, or in the app)

And guess what? Feedly and Pocket can both connect to Buffer!

Hootsuite doesn’t have native support for Buffer, but Buffer allows you to email a tweet from Hootsuite (or anywhere) to a special Buffer email address and it will schedule your retweets that way. This takes a very little bit of extra time, but it’s worth it.

You can also add new tweets to your queue directly in the Buffer app.

So, to sum up the last 3 posts.

  • Feedly and Pocket are great for reading articles.
  • It’s easy to share articles from Feedly and Pocket, you can even share them via Buffer.
  • Buffer helps spread out your twitter posts by posting them on a schedule that you set.
  • Hootsuite is unrivaled when it comes to managing multiple accounts and reading your feeds.

 

How I Work: Twitter

Leave a Reply

