How I Work: Table of Contents

About a year ago a friend of mine and I began brainstorming ideas for a seminar on social media to teach our Sunday School leadership the do’s and dont’s of social media. Big things like why you should create a page for your Sunday School class on Facebook and not an actual person named “Sunday School”, and also small things like calling the church by its shorthand name, not its acronym.

This has blossomed into a full fledged, multi-week corse on technology, social media, games, etc…

Most of the topics will be very low-level, watered down ideas (so not something I would put on this blog). However, one thing I thought might be interesting is to do a class teaching them how to use their phone or tablet for more than just email and games. I’ve found that a lot of people fail at realizing the real potential that can come from one of these devices.

So I figured I would begin working on that particular curriculum by doing a few blog posts regarding how I use different apps to get me through the work day.

Too Many Apps

This post will be a quick synopsis, but posts regarding specific apps will follow.

My Devices

  • iPhone 4S – 16gb
  • iPad 2 – 16gb
  • Home-built PC running Windows 8 (my pride and joy)
    • 8 Core 4.0ghz Intel Processor
    • 32gb Ram
    • 256gb SSD
    • 512gb HDD
  • iMac (2011 Model) at home.

Applications I Use Most Frequently (in no significant order)

  • Chrome – Syncing across platforms is priceless.
  • Trello – To help plan out social media posts.
  • Ideas – To help organize blog post ideas.
  • 30/30 – Helps me maintain a consistent social media schedule
  • Songza – Instrumental background music while I write.
  • Feedly/Pocket – For reading blogs/articles.
  • Hootsuite – For posting to Twitter and Facebook
  • Evernote – My virtual briefcase.
  • Any.DO – My todo list.
  • Penultimate – For handwritten notes.

Some of these apps may be grouped together in future posts, but I’ll definitely be hitting the highlights in the next 4 or 5 posts. Stay tuned!

How I Work: Table of Contents

4 thoughts on “How I Work: Table of Contents

    1. kyleblane says:

      I was planning on finding alternatives for the few that aren’t on both iOS and Android, but unfortunately I won’t be able to test these apps. Luckily, most of the apps are available for both! 😀

Leave a Reply

