Worship Dream Team (Part 2)

Okay, so my brother-in-law and I used to play this game where we’d put together our “Dream Team” band of whatever style/type.  One that I don’t think we ever did was for a Praise Band.  Even if we had, my answers have completely changed now.

Rules: No doubling up on instruments.  Obviously you can have Lead Guitar, Rhythm Guitar and Acoustic Guitar… but 2 of any of those is over kill and isn’t fair.  Also, the musician must profess to be a Christian.  This doesn’t mean that they have to be in a “Christian” band.  Also, try not to use a bunch of people from the same band.

So, with more delay… I present to you my dream team praise band!

Lead Vocals: Mack Brock from Elevation Worship

Not only does Mack have an amazing and unique voice, he’s got a fantastic look… which is a must!

Acoustic Guitar: One of the Shanes from Shane and Shane

While I don’t really listen to Shane and Shane, I can’t deny they’re incredible song writers, guitar players and singers.  My personal favorite clip of theirs is them making fun of David Crowder.

Lead Guitar: The guy from Sanctus Real

I really don’t have a whole lot of preference on lead guitar.  I do know that I love this guys sound(s) and his riffs are top notch.  Like in the previous mentioned song.

Rhythm Guitar: No preference… who even plays attention to the rhythm guitarists?

Keyboard/Piano (and BGVs): Jack Mooring from Leeland

I’m sure there are better keyboardist out there, but I can guarantee you they don’t have harmonies like this guy.  Sadly there aren’t a ton of videos featuring him because he’s overshadowed by his little brother… that’s why this video  (and title) made me laugh.

Keybaord/Synth (and BGV’s): Chris Brown from Elevation

This video.

Drums: Darren King from Mute Math

No drummer in the world has ever done so much with so little.  His energy is unmatched.

BONUS: Here’s and album which include both Darren and the lead singer of Mute Math leading worship with Victory Fellowship.

Bass: Whoever this is on this Hillsong United recording of Take It All.

Also, I love hearing these recordings in other languages… it sounds like so much more fun!

I just realized I’m missing a female vocalist… um… MY WIFE!  Yeah, we’ll go with that!

Honorable Mention: Lyricist: Joel Houston.

He wrote With Everything.  I can’t argue with that.

That’s all for today.  Stay tuned for my Part 3 where I discuss my opinions on the current state of Christian Rock.

Worship Dream Team (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

