Worship Dream Team (Part 1)

This post is dedicated to my boy Zac.  I hope it gives you inspiration.  (even though your post will quite possibly look very similar to mine)

Let me start by saying that I’ve come to the realization that I’ve officially made the transition.  The transition that 10 years ago I would have laughed at you if you told me you had made it.  I’ve come to the realization that I no longer care for Contemporary Christian Music (I hate that term by the way… it’s too broad and sounds too innocent, we’ll just say Christian Rock) anymore, now I’m pretty much a Praise and Worship guy.

Maybe it’s because I lead a praise band at church and I have to learn new stuff and practice in the car?  Or maybe it’s because I think Christian Rock has taken a turn for the stupid.  Don’t get me wrong, there are still a handful of groups I love that are doing things right.

Abandon. After Edmund. The Afters. (wow, that’s a lot of “A’s”) Sanctus Real. David Crowder Band. Downhere.  Leeland.

On second thought, I’d like to put a disclaimer on two of these bands.  Sanctus Real and The Afters have changed in the last album or two.  Not necessarily for the worse, but not in a direction that I personally like.  The Afters have lost some of their quirkiness (Secret Parade was such a cool/obscure opening track!) and Sanctus Real has just grown up and is writing more mature songs.  Gone are the days of lyrics like “I’m as eloquent as an elephant, I’m as headstrong as the mighty King Kong” instead it’s replaced with “In picture frames I see my beautiful wife.  Always smiling, but on the inside…”  I really don’t mind Lead Me, but it’s not the Sanctus Real I fell in love with years ago.  Also, obligatory link to best Sanctus Real song ever.  (and possibly the best opening track ever).  I could probably do a full month of posts on amazing old Sanctus Real songs.

Also, a disclaimer on a few more of the bands listed above.  Yes, DCB and Leeland write music which can be used for Praise and Worship, but as a whole they are not Praise and Worship bands.

So, now that this post has gone insanely long, I’ve turned it into a “Part 1” of a series.  Stay tuned tomorrow to find out who my Worship Band Dream Team!  AND!  Stay tuned after that for Part 3 where I reveal who I think is the greatest Christian Rock band of today AND I’ll talk about what bands I feel are seriously pulling the industry in the wrong direction.  Here’s a hint, one of them is named after a cooking utensil.

Worship Dream Team (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

